A PYMNTS Company

US: FTC’s Ramirez names 2014 Kirkpatrick Award recipient

 |  April 17, 2014

Federal Trade Commissioner Edith Ramirez announced Thursday that former FTC head Janet Dempsey Steiger has won the 2014 Miles W. Kirkpatrick Award for Lifetime FTC Achievement.

Steiger, who passed away in 2004, has been highlighted by the regulator as “an extraordinary public servant who provided inspiring leadership during her tenure at the FRC,” Ramirez said. “As the first woman to lead the FTC, she reinvigorated the agency’s law enforcement, developed its international advisory role, and fostered deep working relationship with state enforcers.”

Steiger held the position as Chairman of the FTC from August 1989 to April 1995; she then served as Commissioner until September 1997.

She was head of the regulator during several significant events in partnership with the Department of Justice’s Antitrust Division. Among her most prominent accomplishments is her 1992 DOJ/FTC Horizontal Merger Guidelines, antitrust enforcement policies in the healthcare sector issued in 1994, and the 1995 guidelines for intellectual property licensing.

The Kirkpatrick Award was established in 2001 in honor of former Chairman Miles Kirkpatrick. The FTC is currently celebrating its centennial, “100 years of promoting competition and protecting consumers through law enforcement, policy and research initiatives, and consumer and business education.”

Full Content: Federal Trade Commission

Want more news? Subscribe to CPI’s free daily newsletter for more headlines and updates on antitrust developments around the world.