A PYMNTS Company

Asia: Half of ASEAN nations have no antitrust law

 |  May 18, 2014

Half of the members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, known as ASEAN nations, do not have effective antitrust law, according to reports, though the nations are reportedly preparing their own competition policy draft laws to be established by the end of 2015.

The Philippines, Myanmar, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Cambodia and Brunel Darussalam do not have competition law, making up have of the ASEAN nations.

The nations with such legislation are Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and Vietnam. The ASEAN association aims to promote economic growth among its members, among other social and economical progresses.

Among those goals is for every member to have effective competition law to progress ASEAN’s efforts to establish a single market economy.

Full content: Business Mirror

Want more news? Subscribe to CPI’s free daily newsletter for more headlines and updates on antitrust developments around the world.