A PYMNTS Company

US: Senate panel approves Trump’s FTC nominees

 |  February 28, 2018

The Senate Commerce Committee on approved President Trump’s four nominees to the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).

The panel unanimously voted to confirm Joseph Simons, Trump’s pick to chair the agency; Rohit Chopra; Noah Phillips, and Christine Wilson.

The FTC has had just two commissioners since the Trump administration came into office more than a year ago. The FTC works with the US Justice Department to enforce antitrust law in the US and also serves as a consumer-protection agency.

At their confirmation hearing, Simons said that the FTC should be open to investigating big tech firms like Google or Facebook if they use their considerable clout inappropriately and should create a drug pricing task force to identify unusual price increases.

Full Content: CNBC

Want more news? Subscribe to CPI’s free daily newsletter for more headlines and updates on antitrust developments around the world.